Raga Yaman


Raga Yaman

Raga Yaman is one of the most fundamental Ragas in Indian Classical Music is widely popular in both styles of Hindustani and Carnatic Music. Hindustani Music it gains wide popularity among the artists in all of Classical Music. It is also highly appreciated in film music, Geet Ghazals, and other popular forms of music. In Carnatic Music, it is well known by its name Raga Kalyani under the Mela Mechkalyani.  According to the Contemporary Thaat division system in North Indian Classical Music, Raga Yeman belongs to Kalyan Thaat and has the characteristics of Kalyan Ang. This Raga is often considered as one of the first ragas taught to the music students either of vocal or instrumental in Indian Classical Music.

Raga Yaman is a Sampurna- Sampurna( Heptatonic) Raga has the only fourth note Sharper and rest are natural. The sharper note in Hindustani Music is called Tivra Swar and Natural Notes are called Suddh Swar. The main note of raga Yaman is Gandhar(Ga) which is called Vadi Swar. The Samvadi swar is Nishad(Ni). It is widespread that the difference between Vadi and Samvadi is always the perfect fourth or the perfect fifth. The Nyas or the break Note is Shadaj, Gandhar, Pancham, and Nishad in Raga Yaman. This is very huge raga covers all three Octaves with the fragrance of Shringar Rasa.  The long-established tradition of raga singing confined the timing of raga recital at the First Phase of the Evening.

Basically, Mandra Nishad is the starting note in raga Yaman. In Aroah, it is quite frequent that Shadaj and Pancham are omitted and used in reversed form i.e. Ni Re Ga--, Ga Re Ma Ga Pa --Re Ga--, Ga Ma Da Ni Da Pa---. Raga Yeman is not only the Raga but also the fundamental of Kalyan Ang. There are various raga having the Kalyan Ang used on it like Raga Hamir, Raga Kedar, Raga Chayanat, Raga Maru Bihag, Raga Shyam- Kalyan, Raga Suddh Kalyan, Raga Jait Kalyan, Raga Puriya Kalyan etc.


Aroah:        Ni Re Ga Ma Da Ni Sa or Sa Re Ga Ma Pa Da Ni Sa

Avaroah:    Sa Ni Da Pa Ma Ga Re Sa

Pakkad:      Ni Re Ga Re, Sa --, Ga Ma Pa Ma Ga---, Ma Dha Ni Da Pa, Pa Ma Ga, Re, Ni Re Sa,

Note: Different ways of ascending and descending notes are popular according to the Gharana Parampara in Indian Classical Music. Some spell direct Aroah- Avaroah and some omit Sa and Pa in Ascending but Avaroah(descending) is almost similar in all Gharana. 




No comments:

Post a Comment

Ad Code

Responsive Advertisement

Popular Posts

Home Ads

Home Ads