Raga Todi :Morning melody of Dishearten love

 Todi (Miya ki Todi)

          Raga Todi is also called Miya ki Todi is one of the famous Raga in Hindustani Classical Music. It is categorized under Todi Thaat and the legacy of  Todi. The Thaat Todi is named because of Raga Todi and is also known as Ashriya Raga of Todi Thaat. Rishav, Gandhar, Dhaivat are Komal and Madhyam in Tivra, and Pancham Swar is frequently omitted in Aroah while going from Tivra Madhyam to Komal Dhaivat. The Aroah consists of six notes while the Avaroah of Todi is Sampurana having all seven notes thus the jati of this raga in Shadav Sampurna. Singing time of this raga in the second phase of the day i.e. 9 am -12 pm.  Vadi Swar is Dhaivat and Samvadi is Gandhar in this Raga. The melody of the raga reflects the Karun Rasa- disheartened ambiance, attachment, or fraction in love. the Nyas Swar or the rest notes which creates the milieu are Dhaivat, Gandhar, and Shadaj

          Raga Todi is a soft melodic structure most commonly sung in Dhrupad Dhamar, Khyal, and all other semi-classical forms of Indian Classical Music. It is believed that Miyan Tansen created and popularise this Ragini so Miya is added as a suffix. Ragang Todi is also used in many ragas to create new raga. Re Ga Re Sa, Sa Dha Dha Ni Sa, Sa Re Ga Re Sa Re Sa, Ga Ma Dha Dha Pa, Re Ga Ma Pa Ma Ga Re Ga Re Sa are the main phrase of Todi. Raga Gurjari Todi, Bahaduri Todi, Bilaskhani Todi, Laxmi Todi are a few ragas among the bunch of Todi-ang Raga. Todi is the most beautiful and sooting raga having a variety of fragrances and garland of many upang raga. The basic ascend and descend of the raga is as follows:- 

Aroha         :        Sa Re Ga Ma Pa, Ma Dha Ni Sa

Avroha       :        Sa Ni Dha Pa Ma Ga Re Sa

Pakad         :        Ga Ma Dha Dha Pa, Ma Ga Re Ga Re Sa

Note:  Kindly learn with Guru or the expert for proper synchronization of notes in Todi 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Ad Code

Responsive Advertisement

Popular Posts

Home Ads

Home Ads