Bhairavi- Queen of Melody


          Evergreen Raga Bhairavi is one of the most beautiful melodies in Hindustani Classical Music. This raga is also considered as the concluding raga of Classical concerts because no musical performance continues after the recital of Raga Bhairavi. Raga Bhairavi falls under the Bhairavi Thaat of North Indian Classical Music. The name Bhairavi is taken from this Raga so Bhairavi Raga is also called the origin Raga of Bhairavi Thaat. Shadaj, Madhyam, and Pancham are natural notes, and the rest of all i.e., Rishva, Gandhar, Dhaivat, and Nishad are Komal Swara being used in the early morning melody of Raga Bhairavi. Madhyam is considered as the main Swar called Vadi and Shadaj in Samvadi in this raga. some writers and musicians of the Present Generation have different verdicts regarding Vadi and Samvadi of Raga Bhairavi. They consider Dhaivat as Vadi and Gandhar as Samvadi Swar.  In past decades Suddha Rishav was used as Vivadi Swar but now Suddha Rishav in Bhairavi is considered as Anuvadi note. It is also very common that all Twelve Semitones are systematically used in Raag Bhairavi of the present era. Generally, Raga Bhairavi is sung all the time without any time limitations, at the end of concerts. According to the theory of music its singing time is mentioned in the last phase of the night with Prahar of Night.

          As we know, Rag Bhairavi is an evergreen raga that is an integral part of  Semi-Classical form like Dadra and Thumri of North Indian Classical Music. Chota Khyal and Drut Khyal are sometimes common but Bada Khyal and Dhrupad is rare in Bhairavi performance. This raga also signifies the Shringara rasa-commonly known as affection and love. The Ascend and Descend of the Raga is ..

Aroha         :        Sa Re, Ga, Ma Pa Dha, Ni

Avroha       :        Sa Ni Da Pa Ma Ga, Re Sa

Pakad         :        Ga Ma Dha Pa, Sa Re Ga Ma Ga, (Re) Sa


No comments:

Post a Comment

Ad Code

Responsive Advertisement

Popular Posts

Home Ads

Home Ads