Chord progression In Raga Bhupali

 Chords In Raga 

    Indian Classical Music is distinctly formed and structured in a sequence that is different than the western music chord progression. A Scale of each individual Raga is different in Indian Music, even the notes combination, Primary Notes, assonant notes, and many more components are the factor to create the melodies that sound different from one another. The Raga Bhupali and the Raga Deskar share the same scale even the same note combination but the melodies of the raga are different from one another. One of the major components of Indian classical music is the melody. It is constructed not by chords or the harmony progression but created by connecting the notes and their interrelationship between the two particular notes. The microtones called Shruti are one of the major factors which determine the correct establishment of the Raga with Vadi- Samvadi and Anuvadi Notes.

    The Chords in Raga Bhupali, Major pentatonic Scale, if choose base note C# will be the chord Progression  C#, D# Sus2/4 or Fm7,  Fdim,  G#6Sus, A#m or C#6. The same will be played in Deskar and the similar chord progression in one Pattern of Suddh Kalyan Raga.

    Here, the major concern is to establish the Notes in different sequences that create the melody of the raga. In Bhupali, Gandhar and Dhaivat are the major Note and the entire raga is revolve around these notes. Similarly, In Deskar the main note is Dhaivat which connects with Shadaj and Gandhar to form a melody that sounds quite different than Bhuplai or Suddh Kalyan. If we Supposed C# as root note in Both Raga then F is the center point in Bhuplai which connect G# of Middle octave and A# of Lower octave with C# D# and F to form the melody of different character then Deskar, where A# is center point connecting F  of Middle octave to higher octave C#. It sounds a little fickle or agile in comparison to Bhupali. Raga Bhuplai sounds stable or serious in character and is played basically in Middle or Lowe octave whereas Raga Deskar is a fickle and unstable raga usually played or sung in Middle or High Octave melody. Thus C# Fm7, A#m can be the cords that may show more stability than the chord progression with D#sus4, Fdim, G#Sus6, or C#6.

To be continued.......



1 comment:

Ad Code

Responsive Advertisement

Popular Posts

Home Ads

Home Ads